Simply The Best Vegan Cheesecake

I hate to make such grand and sweeping remarks such as this title, but, I assure you it is not false. I have made many different vegan cheesecakes using different ingredients and I have finally arrived at what I believe, and you will too, is the most truly sumptuous cake you’ll eat, vegan or not! I mean, just look at it…

cheesecake7

I’ve decorated this one with chocolate covered strawberries, but feel free to snaz it up any way you choose!

Makes: 1 8″ or 9″ springform pan (I used an 8″)

  • 2 tubs of vegan cream cheese (I use Tofutti brand)
  • 1 349g/12 ounce pack of firm, silken tofu
  • 1 ¼ cup granulated sugar
  • 1 tablespoon vanilla essence
  • Juice of one lemon
  • Zest of one lemon
  • 1/4 cup almond or soy milk
  • 1 teaspoon arrowroot
  • 1/2 cup flour
  • Toppings of your choice, I used chocolate covered strawberries and sifted icing sugar

For the crust/base:

  • 2 cups digestive biscuit crumbs (graham cracker crumbs)
  • 3/4 cup vegan butter (I use Pure)
  • 1/4 cup sugar

mosaica0c588cc3be47be75f0f3b0b47d204bf4fff572a

Method:

Start with the base: Pre-heat your oven to 190°C/375°F/gas mark 5 and lightly grease an 8″ or 9″ springform pan. To make the biscuit crumbs I simply churned up the biscuits in the processor. Melt the butter in a small pan and turn off heat. Stir in the crumbs and the sugar until it comes together in a sticky, thick mixture. Press this into your springform pan and push up the side as much as you want. Place in the oven and bake for 5-6 mins. Take out and allow to cool on a cooling rack. Turn the oven down to 160°C/325°F/gas mark 3.

For the filling: Put into your food processor the cream cheese, tofu, sugar, vanilla, juice and zest and almond/soy milk. Blend until you have a smooth consistency. Now add in the arrowroot and the flour and blend until combined. Here you should taste to see if you need more lemon or vanilla. If you want more of a lemon kick, add more zest.

mosaic81dad1274a09503450d52012f915156e500fc765

Now pour the mixture into your prepared crust and bake in the oven for an hour, checking it at the 50 minute mark. Once done, turn the oven off and leave it to sit in the oven for another 1/2 hour. Take it out and leave to cool on a rack (I put mine on the window sill) before putting it into the fridge for about 4 – 6 hours or overnight. Decorate as you wish and enjoy!

cheesecake5

cheesecake6

127 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Oct 06, 2015 @ 21:00:05

    can the cake be frozen for a few days? I can top it with fresh strawberries on the day that I need it

    Reply

  2. zucchelina
    Oct 23, 2015 @ 00:16:39

    do you know a non-soy product to use instead? That works!

    Reply

    • sammysfood
      Oct 24, 2015 @ 19:24:03

      Hi! Well I have not tried anything else in this particular recipe – as this one was designed to taste as close as a traditional cheesecake a possible. BUT, you can try a cashew based vegan cheesecake – they are wonderful and there are many recipes out there. Unless you can find perhaps a vegan cream cheese that is not soy-based.

      Reply

    • Jenny Larson
      Oct 24, 2015 @ 20:20:46

      If you have access to Kite Hill products, their cream cheese is almond-milk based and totally delicious. I’m not sure how it would work in this recipe (in terms of setting), but at worst, you’d end up with a killer cheesecake mousse. And if you want to try a cashew cheesecake as Sammy suggested, I’d highly recommend the Minimalist Baker versions.

      Reply

  3. Trackback: World Vegan Month: Vegan Pumpkin Cheesecake | The Cat's Whisk
  4. EsmeS
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 07:35:17

    Can you use cornstarch instead of arrow root flour?

    Reply

  5. EsmeS
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 07:36:25

    Can you use cornstarch instead of arrowroot flour?

    Reply

  6. Emerald Montuy
    Nov 22, 2015 @ 07:38:13

    Can i use cornstarch instead of arrowroot flour?

    Reply

  7. Kim H
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 05:38:57

    Could you tell me how the texture is on this? I made the typical cashew cheesecake for the first time other day and my sister said it was too creamy. Flavor was on point but she’s right I suppose about the texture.

    If it is a tad creamy, would you have any suggestions?

    Reply

  8. Kim H
    Feb 19, 2016 @ 13:09:38

    What is the texture like on this? I made a cashew cheesecake recipe and my sister said it was too creamy for her taste. I see what she’s saying even though personally I think it’s preeetty close in flavor and what not. She likes the thick and denseness of cheesecake. It’s for her birthday and I’m the vegan one lol

    (Dunno if you have to approve comments before they are posted or if mobile is just funky, so sorry for the repost if that is the case.)

    Reply

    • sammysfood
      Feb 23, 2016 @ 22:02:52

      Hi Kim! No worries. Well I have not actually made a cashew cheesecake before (would love to one day) but the secret to the texture in mine is the combination of tofu, toffutti cream cheese and flour. If you’d like to try my recipe, following the instructions well – hopefully you’ll see for yourself the difference in texture. Hope that has helped!!

      Reply

    • Jenny L.
      Feb 25, 2016 @ 22:54:39

      I would say that the texture of Sammy’s cheesecake is awesomely smooth and delicious, but markedly less “creamy” than cashew cheesecake. I also think that this cheesecake was much thicker and more dense with the 8″ rather than the 9″ springform pan. Full disclosure: I love this cheesecake, and I’m not a huge fan of cashew-creme based foods.

      Reply

  9. Ruth
    Feb 29, 2016 @ 16:46:55

    Question- do I need to press water out of tofu or just drain the excess from the package before using? Thanks.

    Reply

  10. Helen
    May 28, 2016 @ 13:47:55

    Just in the middl of doing this, is it plain or self raising flour please?

    Reply

  11. Aviva Finley
    Jun 08, 2016 @ 16:54:58

    Hi, we cant get pure (or other healthy margarine) where we live. Can you recommend another healthyish option please?
    What do you think about using coconut oil? do you think it would work/taste good?

    The cake looks AMAZING by the way!!!!! cant wait to taste it!!!

    Reply

    • sammysfood
      Jun 12, 2016 @ 10:01:56

      Thanks! Well, I’m not sure as I haven’t tried this with coconut oil – but it may just work. Perhaps use it when it is solid? Lt me know how it goes!

      Reply

  12. Alessandra Bozoky Rodrigues
    Jun 30, 2016 @ 21:29:47

    Hey!
    Great recipe! 2 cups of cream cheese is equal to how many grams?

    Reply

  13. Tomekia
    Jul 01, 2016 @ 07:58:34

    I made this for my husband’s birthday. I follow the recipe exactly and it turned out perfect. Was really simple to make. This tastes just like a non vegan cheesecake. I topped it with blueberries, it was so so delicious. Thanks for the awesome recipe.

    Reply

  14. Joe Rock
    Jul 21, 2016 @ 00:01:00

    I made this and it tasted great.

    Reply

  15. Sandra
    Sep 08, 2016 @ 20:29:53

    Made this cake yesterday, it was lovely! I brought it to work, didn’t tell it was vegan, everybody liked it! 🙂 Thanks for the great recipe.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 444,469 hits