Quick and Easy Vegan Alfredo

Looking back on my past recipes I was surprised that I have not made a pasta dish yet. My boyfriend is Italian and he can make some really amazing pasta dishes, but when I became a vegan there were many that I had to forego or change…like this one!

alfredo4

The original dish he made was simply smoked salmon with cream and pepper, (which I absolutely LOVED), but now I have re-created something similar here without the fish or dairy! It tastes amazing, and I cannot stress enough how important the pepper is!

Makes: 2 servings

  • 1/2 cup raw cashews, soaked in water for 1 hour
  • 1 tablespoon olive oil
  • 1 tablespoon flour
  • 1 garlic clove, crushed and chopped
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1 teaspoon ground nutmeg
  • A handful of fresh basil
  • Salt and fresh cracked pepper
  • Pasta of your choice

Method:

Drain and rinse the cashews and place in a blender or food processor and just cover with water. Blend until you have a white, smooth liquid. Now heat the olive oil in a small saucepan and add the garlic. After one minute add the flour. Stir to make your roux. Now gradually pour in half the milk and keep stirring. Add the cashew cream, nutmeg and salt and pepper. Stir for another minute and if you need to thin it out, add more milk (or water).

alfredocashew

Now taste for seasoning, you may need more salt, and then pour over cooked pasta of your choice. Sprinkle with fresh basil leaves and lots of cracked pepper. This is also lovely with added greens like broccoli (throw them in with your pasta water) or just use the sauce over veggies if you don’t want the pasta 🙂

alfredo2

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bibliophotic
    Apr 04, 2013 @ 14:34:54

    ha! my guy’s family is originally from Naples and Sicily…i am eagerly awaiting the arrival of The Duke’s Table, which is a vegetarian Italian cookbook from the 1930s, just about to be re-published. 🙂
    also, i make my own almond milk…looks like i need to make extra! 😉

    Reply

    • sammysfood
      Apr 04, 2013 @ 15:37:37

      hey! That’s cool! YEs it’s good to have some Italian influence, especially in the kitchen 😉 That book sounds awesome, I’m looking it up now – one for the wish list. I’ve always wanted to make my own almond milk, I’m so lazy! Do you have a good recipe for it?

      Reply

      • bibliophotic
        Apr 04, 2013 @ 15:49:31

        hahaha! you, lazy? i don’t think so! almond milk is really easy to make. i guess i better make a blog post about it! 🙂

      • sammysfood
        Apr 04, 2013 @ 15:58:15

        Excellent!! Can’t wait! (No pressure or anything:))

      • bibliophotic
        Apr 04, 2013 @ 16:08:09

        lol…i was just thinking that I have pictures of both the milk and the cookies i made with the leftover almond pulp, so i could actually make a post without actually making the milk. i’ve been putting off making it because i want to get a “nut milk bag” since using cheesecloth adds to the messiness. so i could write up a post and then you could follow my directions and then write about your experience making it! 🙂

  2. betterbitesct
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 00:02:08

    This looks amazing and it seems like cashews can be made into almost anything! Love the photo 🙂

    Reply

  3. aiming4simple
    Apr 05, 2013 @ 19:54:06

    I’m definitely going to have to make this…soon! Thanks for the recipe!

    Reply

  4. brickiepedia
    Apr 06, 2013 @ 22:05:09

    This looks SUPER yummy 🙂 I just posted my vegan burgers too and added a link to your page! I changed it up a fair bit, but thanks for the inspiration! x

    Reply

  5. Trackback: Vegan Rose Sauce over Quinoa Pasta (vegan, gluten free) | Om girls Guide

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 444,671 hits