Healthy & Delicious Vegan Pizza with Tofu ‘Mozzarella’ – VeganMoFo

DSC_0128

DSC_0132

OK, two days in a row, let’s hope I keep this pace up! 🙂 For day two I’m showcasing one of my favourite homemade pizza recipes. It’s quick, easy, healthy and oh so scrumptuous! You can change-up the ingredients to suit your taste, but please give the silken tofu ‘mozzarella’ a try – you will fall in love!

Makes: 1 pizza

  • 1 spelt pizza base (I used Biona Organic Spelt Pizza Base)
  • 3 tablespoons organic tomato puree
  • 2 teaspoons dried thyme and oregano
  • 1/2 pack of mori-nu firm silken tofu
  • 1 tablespoon nutritional yeast flakes
  • 2 teaspoons garlic powder
  • A few squeezes of lemon juice
  • 1/2 a green pepper
  • 1 mushroom
  • 1 tomato
  • A few marinated artichokes
  • A handful of black olives
  • 1 tablespoon of olive oil
  • Fresh basil leaves

Method:

First, pre-heat the oven to 200°C/400°F/gas mark 6. To make the ‘mozzarella’, simply slice you silken tofu very gently into thin pieces and then, using a shot glass, cut out small round moulds and then slice them so you have little half moons.

DSC_0114

DSC_0117

Never mind the shot glass! It’s from my recent trip to Norway 🙂

Now spread the tomato puree onto your base, using the back of a spoon. Sprinkle over the thyme and oregano.

DSC_0105 DSC_0109

Now lay down your tofu slices and sprinkle with nutritional yeast and garlic powder, then drizzle the lemon juice over them. Now distribute evenly the sliced pepper, mushroom, tomato, artichokes and olives.

DSC_0119 DSC_0120 DSC_0121 DSC_0122 DSC_0123 DSC_0124 DSC_0126

Now drizzle over the olive oil, making sure you distribute it over the veggies and tofu. Now place in the pre-heated oven on the top shelf and cook for about 8 – 10 minutes, depending on your base. Just keep an eyes on it. Once it’s out, finish off your masterpiece with fresh basil leaves and freshly cracked pepper! Enjoy!

DSC_0134

DSC_0131 (2)

20 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ally
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 22:09:37

    Oh this looks fabulous! I love the tofu mozzarella.

    Reply

  2. sophiazerg
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 23:02:59

    Looks incredible. And quick. And easy. 🙂

    Reply

  3. veganinbrighton
    Sep 02, 2013 @ 23:17:32

    What a gorgeous pizza, your pictures are beautiful.

    Reply

  4. Priya Kedlaya
    Sep 03, 2013 @ 02:12:41

    Fresh and flavourful! Now what number can I dial to get me one of those for lunch? 😀 Good luck, I think you’ll rock this month!

    Reply

  5. sara
    Sep 08, 2013 @ 23:06:01

    I’m catching up on MoFo blogs and I love your idea of using silken tofu as mozzarella! I don’t think I’ve ever seen that before to be honest.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Filled Tomatoes from the Oven | Happy Vera
  7. Trackback: Vegan Month of Food Debrief! | An Ode To Mung Beans
  8. afracooking
    Nov 02, 2013 @ 10:09:51

    I’ve managed to get my pizza base guilt-free (I make a base either from rice or quinoa) but until now the cheese always made it feel like a guilty pleasure. I cannot wait to get my hands on some of this tofu – heading to the Asian shop as soon as I get a chance.

    Reply

  9. Trackback: Fit Girl's Diary Low Calorie Healthy Pizza Recipes » Fit Girl's Diary
  10. Trackback: Kid Friendly Dinners - Baby Gizmo
  11. Trackback: Kid Friendly Dinners - Skinny Not Skinny
  12. Trackback: 21 Days A Vegan… – A Wise Woman Builds…
  13. Chess
    Aug 11, 2016 @ 22:51:33

    Does cooking the pizza change the texture of the tofu at all?

    Reply

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 444,496 hits