Voluptuous Vegan Carrot Cake with Zesty Lemon Icing

An old-school favourite, a blast from the past, if you will – the carrot cake. Now that I’ve made various vegan versions of this lil’ beauty, it’s hard to imagine using butter and eggs or cream cheese – you simply don’t need them to make this a rich, moist and delicious cake! I think this will be a great dessert for Easter and will look really pretty amongst all your other Easter foodie shenanigans!

carrotcake6

Sorry I really wanted to us the word shenanigans.

Makes: One 7″/18cm cake. However, I recommend using a larger cake tin as mine turned out a little too deep.

  • 2 cups all-purpose, plain flour
  • 1 1/2 cups light brown sugar
  • ½ cup desiccated coconut
  • 1/2 cup raisins, first soaked for 10 minutes in water
  • 1/2 cup chopped walnuts
  • 2 teaspoons baking Powder
  • 2 teaspoons baking Soda
  • 2 teaspoons cinnamon
  • ½ tsp salt
  • 3 cups grated carrots
  • 1 cup water (you may need less, just add it slowly)
  • 1 tablespoon vinegar
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla
  • 1/3 cup oil

Icing:

  • 2 – 2½ cups icing/powdered sugar
  • 5 heaped tablespoons vegan butter (I use Pure)
  • The juice of one lemon
  • 2 teaspoons lemon extract
  • Water or almond/soy milk to smooth out

carrotcakeingre

Method:

Pre-heat your oven to 177°C/gas mark 4 and grease a pie dish or a springform cake tin. Make it a large one though, otherwise your cake will be too deep. Place the first 10 ingredients into a large mixing bowl and combine with wooden spoon. Now add in the following four ingredients and mix until combined. Pour into your prepared cake tin/dish and bake for about 50 minutes. Check at the 40-45 minute mark with a skewer and if it comes out clean, your done! If not, wait another 5 minutes.

mosaic5c2799e66be50e5434062050a21edf6cf92d8781

For the icing/frosting, start by beating the butter together with the lemon juice until soft. Then gradually add in the icing/powdered sugar. If you need add in a little water or milk to get a smooth consistency. Now drop in the lemon extract. Stir in any extra sugar until you have a smooth, thick and zesty icing!

Once the cake is done, let it cool completely (I put it in the fridge) and then smother with the icing/frosting. I decorated mine with thinly sliced carrots, walnuts and lemon zest, but you can do whatever you like!

carrotcake3

“Hi Camden! I’m a big, fat carrot cake!”

28 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bibliophotic
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 12:07:21

    Yum…hey, can i throw out a challenge? Last year I made a delicious vegan “cheesecake”. it was really very delicious. but it was not really very cheese-cakey, in terms of texture. Have you ever tried making cheesecake? Mine turned out more mousse-y, which I liked, but isn’t a traditional cheesecake. I’ve been curious ever since if it’s even possible to get that thicker, much more dense texture of the cheesecake.

    Reply

    • sammysfood
      Mar 28, 2013 @ 12:30:32

      Regarding the cheesecake – hell yes to the cheesecake! ha! Yes I have tried numerous recipes for a good vegan cheescake and have actually perfected the recipe (don’t wanna sound modest or anything!) and in fact, you’ve just given me a great idea for my next post, so stay..uh..posted!
      With the carrot cake, totally use the cranberries, they would be delicious. Let me know how it goes 🙂

      Reply

  2. bibliophotic
    Mar 28, 2013 @ 12:09:38

    So I have all the ingredients for this, except raisins. I have dried cranberries, though! I wonder what that would be like? I am eating leftovers tonight so I could possibly bake a cake!

    Reply

  3. bibliophotic
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 12:29:25

    I was too tired after work, but i’ll be making this today and icing it tomorrow. 🙂

    Reply

  4. bibliophotic
    Mar 30, 2013 @ 20:32:33

    my carrot cake is in the oven! it smells *amazing*!! but here is the funny thing: i can’t find my springform pan. i’m really annoyed. i guess i have a week to find it… 😉

    Reply

  5. bibliophotic
    Mar 31, 2013 @ 17:34:12

    wow that icing is amazing. i have the cake all put together now, and am about to take it over to my mom’s for Easter. i’ll make a little blog post later and link to your recipe. 🙂

    Reply

  6. Trackback: Happy (not belated) Easter! | The Kitchen Billets-Doux
  7. dindu1989
    Apr 07, 2013 @ 21:19:10

    Oh my word this looks delicious! I cannot wait to try it!!! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Reply

  8. Lynette Cowie
    Apr 14, 2013 @ 08:26:17

    Oh wow, just what I was visualising – a delicious looking carrot cake recipe that I can recommend for a wedding carrot cake that needs to be made. I can’t think of a better or more appropriate recipe for a wedding than a peaceful vegan one! Thanks a mill, now it’s time for me to try it out… of course I simply can’t recommend it without tucking into one myself, now can I?

    Reply

    • sammysfood
      Apr 14, 2013 @ 09:50:08

      I totally agree! The best part about this cake is that it even tastes better the following day which I imagine would be good for a wedding, with all the preperation involved! Plus the coconut gives it a little something diffferent which I think wedding guests would really like! Please let me know how you go trying it 🙂

      Reply

  9. Rosie
    Apr 21, 2013 @ 09:00:50

    sammy i have just had a slice of the carrot cake, it turned out gorgeous, so moist and it was so easy thanks Babes xx

    Reply

  10. Cindy McClain Pearman
    Apr 30, 2013 @ 00:10:46

    Made this cake last night for my vegan son’s 20th birthday. I left the raisins out (cooked raisins are a deal-breaker for a sibling), doubled the recipe, put part in a sheet cake pan and the rest as cupcakes. It is a delicious, moist cake. Will definitely make this again, maybe with the cranberries next time. Wonder how it would be with some overripe bananas thrown in?

    Reply

    • sammysfood
      Apr 30, 2013 @ 07:42:01

      Fantastic! I’m so glad you liked it! Yes, cranberries would be lovely. I don’t know about the bananas, sounds like a good idea to try though! Thanks for the feedback 🙂

      Reply

  11. Little Eco Earthling
    May 16, 2013 @ 16:17:21

    I’m participating in a vegan challenge at the moment and yesterday found myself absolutely craving something naughty – cake! So I Googled ‘vegan carrot cake’, found this recipe, and about an hour later had 12 amazing muffins! I changed the recipe around a little (took out a cup of sugar and substituted with 2tbsp golden syrup), and toasted the coconut and walnuts first. And I only cooked them for 20 mins. They turned out absolutely amazing, and I would never have guessed they were vegan if I hadn’t made them myself. Thanks for the brilliant recipe – I’ll certainly be making these again 😀

    Reply

    • sammysfood
      May 16, 2013 @ 16:40:16

      Wow! That is so wonderful! I’m so glad you liked it! Actually my mother was going to make these into muffins/cupcakes so I’ll let her know of your success :). That’s also a great idea to toast the coconut and walnuts first – yum!

      Reply

      • Little Eco Earthling
        May 28, 2013 @ 09:45:40

        I adapted the recipe even more to create a chocolate courgette muffin (which is vegan and gluten-free). Check out my latest post…they were amazing, and I hope you don’t mind me blogging about it. 🙂

      • sammysfood
        Jun 11, 2013 @ 21:49:21

        Not at all! Thank you so much for blogging about it and they look fantastic!! I love how you can adapt the recipe and add make it into all sorts of vegan goodness! I made this for a friends birthday actually over the weekend..will be poting about it soon 🙂

  12. Trackback: Chocolate Zucchini Muffins – Vegan & Gluten-free | Little Eco Earthling

Leave a comment

Blog Stats

  • 444,523 hits